060608


Chiesa Ss. Sergio e Bacco degli Ucraini

Typology: Non Parish Church

Address

Address: Piazza Della Madonna dei Monti, 3
Zone: Rione Monti (Colosseo-S.Giovanni-S.Maria Maggiore) (Roma centro)
Enter your starting address

Contacts

Telephone: +39 06 485778
Fax: +39 06 4827400

Opening times

Open 07:00am-08:00am
Sunday 08:00am-12:00pm 03:00pm-06:00pm 
Thursday 05:00pm-07:00pm
Visitors are not  allowed  during  Mass (religious services)
For services schedule please refer to:
Opening times are subject to change. Please call the Church.

Description

SS. SERGIO E BACCO DEGLI UCRAINI Thechurch, dedicated to San Sergio della Suburra, states its origins in C. IX. In 1563,under Paolo III’s papacy, it was rebuilt and dedicated to the Saints Sergio andBacco. In 1641 the church was donated to the Monaci Ruteni di San Basilio whothen annexed it to a boarding school. In 1741, moreover, the entire complex wasrebuilt by Francesco Ferrari. The buildings were transformed on the basis of aproject by E. Banali and restored during the first half of the 1900s. Theboarding school thus turned into a hospice for Ukrainian pilgrims. Thefaçade, dating back to 1896 and restored in 1970, appears with neoclassicalshapes and three orders. The first one opens up with a seventeenth-centuryportal. On top of it, among pilaster strips, one finds a big rounded archwindow. On the third one there is a window with a mixtilinear frame, surmountedby a triangular tympanum. Theinterior encompasses a unique nave roofed by a frescoed barrel vault. On top ofthe high altar one finds a painting of the “Madonna del Pascolo”.
Last checked: 2017-04-04 16:13
©2007 - Roma Classic version