Fontana della Terrina

Typology: Fountains


Address: Piazza della Chiesa Nuova
Zone: Rione Parione (Navona-Campo de' Fiori) (Roma centro)
Enter your starting address



The fountain is popularly called “la terrina” (the tureen) due to its particular shape. It was built around 1590 by Giacomo della Porta and originally placed in Piazza Campo de’ Fiori. The fountain was covered in 1622 at the time of pope Gregory the Fifteenth Ludovisi (1621-1623) with heavy travertine slab with the following motto engraved under the knob: Ama Dio e non fallire, fa del bene e lassa ire (Love God and do not fail, do good and let go) on account of the accumulation of trash coming from the market that washeld in the square from the ancient times.The fountain was removed in 1889 to make room for the monument to Giordano Bruno and was placed in 1924 in its current location, when space was createddue to the demolitions for the opening of Corso Vittorio in the square dominated by the facade of the Oratory of the Philippines by Borromini and by the church of Santa Maria in Vallicella, immersed in a quadrangular pond with steps. In 1924 a new fountain without a cover was also built on the Westernside of Campo de’ Fiori to commemorate the original tureen-shaped fountain.

For more information

Culture and leisure › Cultural heritage › Architectural and historical heritage
Last checked: 2014-04-02 17:14
©2007 - Roma Classic version